.

Holidays and gift giving occasions in Belgium

When you live in a country that has its name next to some of the best beer and chocolate in the world, you don’t need much excuse to celebrate. That said, there are plenty of public holidays to test out those delicious national specialties, just in case you needed a reason. When it comes to shipping around these dates however, there are some issues – packages aren’t picked up or delivered on public holidays, so if you’re sending around the dates allow extra time.

Date Day Holiday
Jan 1 Tuesday New Year's Day
Mar 21 Thursday March Equinox
Mar 31 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts
Apr 19 Friday Good Friday
Apr 21 Sunday Easter Day
Apr 22 Monday Easter Monday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day
Jun 9 Sunday Whit Sunday
Jun 10 Monday Whit Monday
Jun 21 Friday June Solstice
Jul 21 Sunday Belgian National Day
Aug 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary
Sep 23 Monday September Equinox
Oct 27 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends
Nov 1 Friday All Saints' Day
Nov 11 Monday Armistice Day
Dec 22 Sunday December Solstice
Dec 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve
Dec 25 Wednesday Christmas Day
Dec 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve