.

Holidays and gift giving occasions in Belgium

When you live in a country that has its name next to some of the best beer and chocolate in the world, you don’t need much excuse to celebrate. That said, there are plenty of public holidays to test out those delicious national specialties, just in case you needed a reason. When it comes to shipping around these dates however, there are some issues – packages aren’t picked up or delivered on public holidays, so if you’re sending around the dates allow extra time.

Date Day Holiday
Jan 1 Wednesday New Year's Day
Jan 6 Monday Epiphany
Feb 14 Friday Valentine's Day
Mar 20 Friday March Equinox
Mar 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts
Apr 10 Friday Good Friday
Apr 12 Sunday Easter Sunday
Apr 13 Monday Easter Monday
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day
May 8 Friday Iris Day
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day
May 22 Friday Day after Ascension Day
May 31 Sunday Whit Sunday
Jun 1 Monday Whit Monday
Jun 21 Sunday June Solstice
Jul 11 Saturday Day of the Flemish Community
Jul 21 Tuesday Belgian National Day
Aug 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary
Sep 22 Tuesday September Equinox
Sep 27 Sunday Day of the French Community
Sep 27 Sunday Day of the Walloon Region
Oct 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends
Oct 31 Saturday Halloween
Nov 1 Sunday All Saints' Day
Nov 11 Wednesday Armistice Day
Nov 15 Sunday Day of the German-speaking Community
Dec 6 Sunday St. Nicholas Day
Dec 21 Monday December Solstice
Dec 24 Thursday Christmas Eve
Dec 25 Friday Christmas Day
Dec 26 Saturday Boxing Day
Dec 31 Thursday New Year's Eve