.

Holidays and gift giving occasions in France

France is a wonderful place to spend the holidays, and they have plenty to celebrate. However, it’s important to remember that packages are not collected or delivered on public holidays, so leave more time for gifts to be delivered. We’ve created a handy list of French holidays and other significant dates below.

Date Day Holiday
Jan 1 Tuesday New Year's Day
Mar 21 Thursday March Equinox
Mar 31 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts
Apr 19 Friday Good Friday
Apr 21 Sunday Easter Day
Apr 22 Monday Easter Monday
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day / May Day
May 8 Wednesday WWII Victory Day
May 26 Sunday Mother's Day
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day
Jun 9 Sunday Whit Sunday
Jun 10 Monday Whit Monday
Jun 16 Sunday Father's Day
Jun 21 Friday June Solstice
Jul 14 Sunday Bastille Day
Aug 15 Thursday Assumption of Mary
Sep 23 Monday September Equinox
Oct 27 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends
Nov 1 Friday All Saints' Day
Nov 11 Monday Armistice Day
Dec 22 Sunday December Solstice
Dec 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve
Dec 25 Wednesday Christmas Day
Dec 26 Thursday St Stephen's Day
Dec 31 Tuesday New Year's Eve