.

Holidays and gift giving occasions in Germany

Christmas markets may be the main reason you're thinking about Germany during the holidays, but it's important to remember that packages aren't collected or developed on a public holiday. So if you're sending something around the days we've collected below, keep in mind that it may take a day or two longer to arrive.

Date Day Holiday
Jan 1 Wednesday New Year's Day
Jan 6 Monday Epiphany
Jan 22 Wednesday Franco-German Day
Jan 27 Monday Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Jan 28 Tuesday European Privacy Day
Feb 10 Monday Children's Hospice Day
Feb 14 Friday Valentine's Day
Feb 24 Monday Shrove Monday
Feb 25 Tuesday Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Feb 26 Wednesday Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Mar 8 Sunday International Women's Day
Mar 8 Sunday International Women's Day
Mar 8 Sunday International Women's Day
Mar 17 Tuesday St. Patrick's Day
Mar 20 Friday March Equinox
Mar 26 Thursday Girls' Day - Career Information Day
Mar 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts
Apr 5 Sunday Palm Sunday
Apr 9 Thursday Maundy Thursday
Apr 10 Friday Good Friday
Apr 12 Sunday Easter Sunday
Apr 12 Sunday Easter Sunday
Apr 13 Monday Easter Monday
Apr 23 Thursday German Beer Day
Apr 30 Thursday Walpurgis Night
May 1 Friday May Day
May 2 Saturday German Food Bank Day
May 5 Tuesday Europe Day (Council of Europe)
May 8 Friday Anniversary of the End of World War II
May 8 Friday Anniversary of the End of World War II
May 9 Saturday Europe Day (European Union)
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day
May 21 Thursday Father's Day
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day
May 23 Saturday Constitution Day
May 31 Sunday Whit Sunday
May 31 Sunday Whit Sunday
Jun 1 Monday Whit Monday
Jun 1 Monday International Childrens' Day
Jun 3 Wednesday European Bicycle Day
Jun 6 Saturday Visually Impaired People Day
Jun 11 Thursday Corpus Christi
Jun 21 Sunday Car-free Sunday
Jun 21 Sunday June Solstice
Jun 27 Saturday Architecture Day
Aug 8 Saturday Peace Festival in Augsburg
Aug 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary
Sep 1 Tuesday World Peace Day
Sep 12 Saturday German Language Day
Sep 13 Sunday European Heritage Days
Sep 20 Sunday German World Children's Day
Sep 20 Sunday German World Children's Day
Sep 22 Tuesday September Equinox
Oct 3 Saturday Day of German Unity
Oct 4 Sunday Harvest Festival
Oct 11 Sunday Grandparents' Day
Oct 24 Saturday Day of the Libraries
Oct 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends
Oct 30 Friday World Thrift Day
Oct 31 Saturday Reformation Day
Oct 31 Saturday Halloween
Nov 1 Sunday All Saints' Day
Nov 9 Monday Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Nov 9 Monday Fall of the Berlin Wall
Nov 11 Wednesday St. Martin's Day
Nov 15 Sunday National Day of Mourning
Nov 18 Wednesday Repentance Day
Nov 22 Sunday Sunday of the Dead
Nov 29 Sunday First Advent Sunday
Dec 6 Sunday Second Advent Sunday
Dec 6 Sunday Saint Nicholas Day
Dec 13 Sunday Third Advent Sunday
Dec 19 Saturday Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Dec 20 Sunday Fourth Advent Sunday
Dec 21 Monday December Solstice
Dec 24 Thursday Christmas Eve
Dec 25 Friday Christmas Day
Dec 26 Saturday Boxing Day
Dec 31 Thursday New Year's Eve