.

2018 USA federal and national holidays

The United States has 10 federal national holidays per year. These are nonworking days when no parcel collections or deliveries take place. So whether you're shipping from the UK to the USA, or requesting a collection from the USA, you need to account for the public holidays listed below.

When a national or Federal holiday falls on a weekend, it's normally observed on the prior or next working day. Federal holidays are often referred to as public holidays or bank holidays.

2018 Federal Holidays
Date Day Holiday
Jan 1 Monday New Year's Day
Jan 1 Monday New Year's Eve observed
Jan 4 Thursday World Braille Day
Jan 6 Saturday Epiphany
Jan 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day
Jan 7 Sunday International Programmers' Day
Jan 12 Friday Lee Jackson Day
Jan 13 Saturday Stephen Foster Memorial Day
Jan 14 Sunday Orthodox New Year
Jan 15 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Jan 15 Monday Robert E Lee's Birthday
Jan 15 Monday Robert E Lee's Birthday
Jan 15 Monday Robert E Lee's Birthday
Jan 15 Monday State Holiday
Jan 15 Monday Idaho Human Rights Day
Jan 15 Monday Civil Rights Day
Jan 15 Monday Civil Rights Day
Jan 19 Friday Robert E Lee's Birthday
Jan 19 Friday State Holiday
Jan 21 Sunday World Religion Day
Jan 26 Friday International Customs Day
Jan 27 Saturday International Day of Commemoration in Memory of the Victims of the Holocaust
Jan 28 Sunday World Leprosy Day
Jan 29 Monday Kansas Day
Jan 31 Wednesday Tu Bishvat/Tu B'Shevat
Feb 1 Thursday National Freedom Day
Feb 2 Friday World Wetlands Day
Feb 2 Friday Groundhog Day
Feb 2 Friday National Wear Red Day
Feb 4 Sunday World Cancer Day
Feb 4 Sunday Rosa Parks Day
Feb 4 Sunday Rosa Parks Day
Feb 6 Tuesday International Day of Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation
Feb 11 Sunday International Day of Women and Girls in Science
Feb 11 Sunday World Day of the Sick
Feb 12 Monday Lincoln's Birthday
Feb 12 Monday Lincoln's Birthday
Feb 13 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras
Feb 13 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras
Feb 13 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras
Feb 13 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri
Feb 13 Tuesday World Radio Day
Feb 13 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras
Feb 14 Wednesday Ash Wednesday
Feb 14 Wednesday Valentine's Day
Feb 14 Wednesday Statehood Day in Arizona
Feb 15 Thursday Susan B Anthony's Birthday
Feb 15 Thursday Susan B Anthony's Birthday
Feb 15 Thursday Susan B Anthony's Birthday
Feb 15 Thursday Susan B Anthony's Birthday
Feb 16 Friday Chinese New Year
Feb 16 Friday Elizabeth Peratrovich Day
Feb 19 Monday Presidents' Day
Feb 19 Monday Daisy Gatson Bates Day
Feb 20 Tuesday World Day of Social Justice
Feb 21 Wednesday International Mother Language Day
Feb 28 Wednesday Linus Pauling Day
Mar 1 Thursday Purim
Mar 1 Thursday Zero Discrimination Day
Mar 1 Thursday Self-Injury Awareness Day
Mar 1 Thursday St. David's Day
Mar 2 Friday Holi
Mar 2 Friday Texas Independence Day
Mar 2 Friday Read Across America Day
Mar 2 Friday Employee Appreciation Day
Mar 3 Saturday World Wildlife Day
Mar 5 Monday Casimir Pulaski Day
Mar 6 Tuesday Town Meeting Day Vermont
Mar 8 Thursday International Women's Day
Mar 8 Thursday World Kidney Day
Mar 11 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts
Mar 16 Friday Evacuation Day observed
Mar 17 Saturday St. Patrick's Day
Mar 17 Saturday Evacuation Day
Mar 20 Tuesday International Day of Happiness
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox
Mar 21 Wednesday International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
Mar 21 Wednesday World Poetry Day
Mar 21 Wednesday International Day of Nowruz
Mar 21 Wednesday World Down Syndrome Day
Mar 21 Wednesday International Day of Forests
Mar 22 Thursday World Water Day
Mar 23 Friday World Meteorological Day
Mar 24 Saturday World Tuberculosis Day
Mar 24 Saturday International Day for the Right to the Truth concerning Gross Human Rights Violations and for the Dignity of Victims
Mar 24 Saturday Earth Hour
Mar 25 Sunday Palm Sunday
Mar 25 Sunday International Day of Solidarity with Detained and Missing Staff Members
Mar 25 Sunday International Day of Remembrance of Slavery Victims and the Transatlantic Slave Trade
Mar 25 Sunday Maryland Day
Mar 26 Monday Maryland Day observed
Mar 26 Monday Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day
Mar 26 Monday Seward's Day
Mar 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday
Mar 30 Friday Good Friday
Mar 31 Saturday Holy Saturday
Mar 31 Saturday Passover (first day)
Mar 31 Saturday César Chávez Day
Mar 31 Saturday César Chávez Day
Mar 31 Saturday César Chávez Day
Apr 1 Sunday April Fool's Day
Apr 1 Sunday Easter Sunday
Apr 2 Monday World Autism Awareness Day
Apr 2 Monday Easter Monday
Apr 2 Monday Pascua Florida Day
Apr 4 Wednesday United Nations' Mine Awareness Day
Apr 6 Friday Orthodox Good Friday
Apr 6 Friday International Day of Sport for Development and Peace
Apr 6 Friday National Tartan Day
Apr 7 Saturday Last Day of Passover
Apr 7 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday
Apr 7 Saturday United Nations' World Health Day
Apr 7 Saturday Day of Remembrance of the Victims of the Rwanda Genocide
Apr 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter
Apr 9 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday
Apr 10 Tuesday National Library Workers' Day
Apr 11 Wednesday Yom HaShoah
Apr 12 Thursday International Day of Human Space Flight
Apr 13 Friday Isra and Mi'raj
Apr 13 Friday Friday the 13th
Apr 13 Friday Thomas Jefferson's Birthday
Apr 15 Sunday Father Damien Day
Apr 16 Monday Emancipation Day
Apr 16 Monday Patriot's Day
Apr 17 Tuesday Tax Day
Apr 18 Wednesday International Day for Monuments and Sites
Apr 19 Thursday Yom Ha'atzmaut
Apr 20 Friday Chinese Language Day
Apr 20 Friday Global Youth Service Day
Apr 21 Saturday San Jacinto Day
Apr 22 Sunday Earth Day
Apr 22 Sunday Oklahoma Day
Apr 23 Monday World Book and Copyright Day
Apr 23 Monday Confederate Memorial Day
Apr 23 Monday State Holiday
Apr 23 Monday English Language Day
Apr 25 Wednesday Administrative Professionals Day
Apr 25 Wednesday World Malaria Day
Apr 26 Thursday World Intellectual Property Day
Apr 26 Thursday International Chernobyl Disaster Remembrance Day
Apr 26 Thursday State Holiday
Apr 26 Thursday Take our Daughters and Sons to Work Day
Apr 27 Friday Arbor Day
Apr 28 Saturday World Day for Safety and Health at Work
Apr 29 Sunday Day of Remembrance for all Victims of Chemical Warfare
Apr 30 Monday International Jazz Day
Apr 30 Monday State Holiday
May 1 Tuesday Law Day
May 1 Tuesday Loyalty Day
May 1 Tuesday Lei Day
May 2 Wednesday World Tuna Day
May 3 Thursday Lag BaOmer
May 3 Thursday World Press Freedom Day
May 3 Thursday National Day of Prayer
May 4 Friday Kent State Shootings Remembrance
May 4 Friday Rhode Island Independence Day
May 5 Saturday Cinco de Mayo
May 5 Saturday National Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Day
May 6 Sunday National Nurses Day
May 8 Tuesday Time of Remembrance and Reconciliation for Those Who Lost Their Lives during the Second World War
May 8 Tuesday World Ovarian Cancer Day
May 8 Tuesday Truman Day
May 8 Tuesday Primary Election Day West Virginia
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day
May 10 Thursday Confederate Memorial Day
May 10 Thursday State Holiday
May 11 Friday Military Spouse Appreciation Day
May 12 Saturday World Migratory Bird Day
May 12 Saturday International Nurses Day
May 13 Sunday Mother's Day
May 15 Tuesday International Day of Families
May 15 Tuesday Peace Officers Memorial Day
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan starts
May 17 Thursday World Information Society Day
May 18 Friday National Defense Transportation Day
May 19 Saturday Armed Forces Day
May 20 Sunday Pentecost
May 20 Sunday Shavuot
May 20 Sunday World Autoimmune Arthritis Day
May 21 Monday Whit Monday
May 21 Monday World Day for Cultural Diversity for Dialogue and Development
May 22 Tuesday International Day for Biological Diversity
May 22 Tuesday National Maritime Day
May 22 Tuesday Harvey Milk Day
May 23 Wednesday International Day to End Obstetric Fistula
May 23 Wednesday Emergency Medical Services for Children Day
May 25 Friday African Liberation Day
May 25 Friday National Missing Children's Day
May 27 Sunday Trinity Sunday
May 28 Monday Memorial Day
May 28 Monday Jefferson Davis Birthday
May 29 Tuesday International Day of United Nations Peacekeepers
May 29 Tuesday Day of Vesak
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi
May 31 Thursday World No Tobacco Day
Jun 1 Friday Global Day of Parents
Jun 1 Friday Statehood Day
Jun 3 Sunday Jefferson Davis Birthday
Jun 4 Monday International Day of Innocent Children Victims of Aggression
Jun 4 Monday Jefferson Davis Birthday
Jun 5 Tuesday World Environment Day
Jun 6 Wednesday D-Day
Jun 8 Friday World Oceans Day
Jun 10 Sunday Lailat al-Qadr
Jun 11 Monday Kamehameha Day
Jun 12 Tuesday World Day Against Child Labour
Jun 13 Wednesday International Albinism Awareness Day
Jun 14 Thursday World Blood Donor Day
Jun 14 Thursday Army Birthday
Jun 14 Thursday Flag Day
Jun 15 Friday Eid al-Fitr
Jun 15 Friday World Elder Abuse Awareness Day
Jun 16 Saturday International Day of Family Remittances
Jun 17 Sunday World Day to Combat Desertification and Drought
Jun 17 Sunday Father's Day
Jun 17 Sunday Bunker Hill Day
Jun 18 Monday Bunker Hill Day observed
Jun 19 Tuesday International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict
Jun 19 Tuesday Juneteenth
Jun 19 Tuesday Emancipation Day
Jun 20 Wednesday World Refugee Day
Jun 20 Wednesday West Virginia Day
Jun 20 Wednesday American Eagle Day
Jun 21 Thursday International Day of Yoga
Jun 21 Thursday June Solstice
Jun 23 Saturday Public Service Day
Jun 23 Saturday International Widows' Day
Jun 25 Monday Day of the Seafarer
Jun 26 Tuesday International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
Jun 26 Tuesday International Day in Support of Victims of Torture
Jun 30 Saturday International Asteroid Day
Jul 4 Wednesday Independence Day
Jul 7 Saturday International Day of Cooperatives
Jul 11 Wednesday World Population Day
Jul 13 Friday Friday the 13th
Jul 15 Sunday World Youth Skills Day
Jul 18 Wednesday Nelson Mandela Day
Jul 22 Sunday Tisha B'Av
Jul 22 Sunday Parents' Day
Jul 24 Tuesday Pioneer Day
Jul 27 Friday National Korean War Veterans Armistice Day
Jul 28 Saturday World Hepatitis Day
Jul 30 Monday International Day of Friendship
Jul 30 Monday World Day against Trafficking in Persons
Aug 1 Wednesday Colorado Day
Aug 4 Saturday Coast Guard Birthday
Aug 7 Tuesday Purple Heart Day
Aug 9 Thursday International Day of the World's Indigenous People
Aug 12 Sunday International Youth Day
Aug 13 Monday Victory Day
Aug 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary
Aug 16 Thursday Bennington Battle Day
Aug 17 Friday Statehood Day in Hawaii
Aug 19 Sunday National Aviation Day
Aug 19 Sunday World Humanitarian Day
Aug 21 Tuesday Senior Citizens Day
Aug 22 Wednesday Eid al-Adha
Aug 23 Thursday International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition
Aug 25 Saturday Raksha Bandhan
Aug 26 Sunday Women's Equality Day
Aug 27 Monday Lyndon Baines Johnson Day
Aug 29 Wednesday International Day against Nuclear Tests
Aug 30 Thursday International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances
Aug 31 Friday International Overdose Awareness Day
Sep 2 Sunday Janmashtami
Sep 3 Monday Labor Day
Sep 4 Tuesday World Sexual Health Day
Sep 5 Wednesday International Day of Charity
Sep 8 Saturday International Literacy Day
Sep 8 Saturday Carl Garner Federal Lands Cleanup Day
Sep 9 Sunday National Grandparents Day
Sep 9 Sunday California Admission Day
Sep 10 Monday Rosh Hashana
Sep 10 Monday Rosh Hashana
Sep 10 Monday World Suicide Prevention Day
Sep 11 Tuesday Patriot Day
Sep 12 Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi
Sep 12 Wednesday Muharram
Sep 12 Wednesday International Day for South-South Cooperation
Sep 13 Thursday International Programmers' Day
Sep 15 Saturday International Day of Democracy
Sep 15 Saturday National CleanUp Day
Sep 16 Sunday International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer
Sep 17 Monday Constitution Day and Citizenship Day
Sep 18 Tuesday Air Force Birthday
Sep 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur
Sep 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur
Sep 21 Friday National POW/MIA Recognition Day
Sep 21 Friday International Day of Peace
Sep 22 Saturday Emancipation Day
Sep 23 Sunday International Celebrate Bisexuality Day
Sep 23 Sunday September equinox
Sep 24 Monday First Day of Sukkot
Sep 26 Wednesday International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons
Sep 27 Thursday World Maritime Day
Sep 27 Thursday World Tourism Day
Sep 28 Friday World Rabies Day
Sep 28 Friday Native Americans' Day
Sep 29 Saturday World Heart Day
Sep 30 Sunday Last Day of Sukkot
Sep 30 Sunday Gold Star Mother's Day
Oct 1 Monday Shmini Atzeret
Oct 1 Monday International Day of Older Persons
Oct 1 Monday World Habitat Day
Oct 1 Monday World Vegetarian Day
Oct 1 Monday Child Health Day
Oct 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah
Oct 2 Tuesday International Day of Non-Violence
Oct 3 Wednesday World Cerebral Palsy Day
Oct 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Oct 5 Friday World Teachers' Day
Oct 8 Monday Columbus Day
Oct 8 Monday Columbus Day
Oct 8 Monday Native Americans' Day
Oct 8 Monday Indigenous People's Day
Oct 8 Monday Indigenous People's Day
Oct 9 Tuesday Navaratri
Oct 9 Tuesday World Post Day
Oct 9 Tuesday Leif Erikson Day
Oct 10 Wednesday International Day for Natural Disaster Reduction
Oct 10 Wednesday World Mental Health Day
Oct 11 Thursday International Day of the Girl Child
Oct 11 Thursday World Sight Day
Oct 13 Saturday Navy Birthday
Oct 15 Monday International Day of Rural Women
Oct 15 Monday White Cane Safety Day
Oct 16 Tuesday World Food Day
Oct 16 Tuesday Boss's Day
Oct 17 Wednesday International Day for the Eradication of Poverty
Oct 18 Thursday Alaska Day
Oct 18 Thursday Dussehra
Oct 20 Saturday Sweetest Day
Oct 24 Wednesday World Development Information Day
Oct 24 Wednesday United Nations Day
Oct 26 Friday Nevada Day
Oct 27 Saturday World Day for Audiovisual Heritage
Oct 29 Monday World Stroke Day
Oct 31 Wednesday World Cities Day
Oct 31 Wednesday Halloween
Nov 1 Thursday All Saints' Day
Nov 1 Thursday World Vegan Day
Nov 2 Friday All Souls' Day
Nov 2 Friday International Day to End Impunity for Crimes against Journalists
Nov 4 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends
Nov 6 Tuesday International Day for Preventing the Exploitation of the Environment in War and Armed Conflict
Nov 6 Tuesday Election Day
Nov 6 Tuesday Diwali/Deepavali
Nov 8 Thursday Return Day Delaware
Nov 10 Saturday World Science Day for Peace and Development
Nov 10 Saturday Marine Corps Birthday
Nov 11 Sunday Veterans Day
Nov 12 Monday World Pneumonia Day
Nov 12 Monday Veterans Day observed
Nov 14 Wednesday World Diabetes Day
Nov 15 Thursday World Philosophy Day
Nov 16 Friday International Day for Tolerance
Nov 17 Saturday World Prematurity Day
Nov 18 Sunday World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims
Nov 19 Monday World Toilet Day
Nov 19 Monday International Men's Day
Nov 20 Tuesday Universal Children's Day
Nov 20 Tuesday Africa Industrialization Day
Nov 21 Wednesday The Prophet's Birthday
Nov 21 Wednesday World Television Day
Nov 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
Nov 23 Friday State Holiday
Nov 23 Friday Presidents' Day
Nov 23 Friday Lincoln's Birthday/Lincoln's Day
Nov 23 Friday American Indian Heritage Day
Nov 23 Friday Black Friday
Nov 25 Sunday International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women
Nov 26 Monday Cyber Monday
Nov 29 Thursday International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People
Dec 1 Saturday World AIDS Day
Dec 2 Sunday First Sunday of Advent
Dec 2 Sunday International Day for the Abolition of Slavery
Dec 3 Monday Chanukah/Hanukkah (first day)
Dec 3 Monday International Day of Persons with Disabilities
Dec 5 Wednesday International Volunteer Day for Economic and Social Development
Dec 5 Wednesday World Soil Day
Dec 6 Thursday St Nicholas' Day
Dec 7 Friday International Civil Aviation Day
Dec 7 Friday Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Dec 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Dec 9 Sunday International Anti-Corruption Day
Dec 9 Sunday World Genocide Commemoration Day
Dec 10 Monday Last Day of Chanukah
Dec 10 Monday Human Rights Day
Dec 11 Tuesday International Mountain Day
Dec 12 Wednesday Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe
Dec 13 Thursday National Guard Birthday
Dec 17 Monday Pan American Aviation Day
Dec 17 Monday Wright Brothers Day
Dec 18 Tuesday International Migrants Day
Dec 18 Tuesday Arabic Language Day
Dec 20 Thursday International Human Solidarity Day
Dec 22 Saturday December Solstice
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve
Dec 24 Monday Washington's Birthday
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Day
Dec 26 Wednesday Kwanzaa (until Jan 1)
Dec 26 Wednesday Day After Christmas Day
Dec 26 Wednesday Day After Christmas Day
Dec 31 Monday New Year's Eve
Dec 31 Monday New Year's Eve

It's worth noting that private employers do not have to allow employees time off for federal holidays, and some do not do so. All government departments do observe all federal holidays. However, all major carriers are closed on federal holidays, and therefore no package collections or deliveries are made.

In addition to national holidays, there are a number of state holidays which may also affect collection and delivery.

In addition to the above 10 federal holidays Washington DC and border counties of Maryland and Virginia also celebrate Inauguration Day once every four years on January 20, following each presidential election.

A box throughout the packing process

FAQ's

When you quote a USA transit time do you account for public holidays?

Yes, whenever you get a quote on our website, we will always quote a specific day of collection and delivery and this transit time accounts for any state or national holiday days, so you can rely on our USA transit times to be accurate.

Is there any way you can collect or deliver on federal holidays?

Unfortunately not, as all the couriers are closed, and simply do not operate on state or national holidays.

Can I drop off my parcel on a public holiday?

Unfortunately not, the local depots are all closed on holidays, therefore you will need to wait until the following working day before dropping off your package.

Do customs work on US federal holidays?

No customs clearance takes place on federal holidays, customs clearance will take place on the next working day.